Eleven new members were inducted into the Eldorado High School chapter of the National Honor Society on Wednesday, November 17th, 2021, in the EHS auditorium.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Jonathan McGee while Yatzari Narvaez offered the opening prayer.

National Honor Society sponsor Hilary Choate introduced the new officers for the 2020-2021 school year. They include President Jonathan McGee, Vice President Yatzari Narvaez, Treasurer Seth Parker, and Secretary Natalie Fuentes.

The new officers were on hand to perform the Candle Ceremony which represents Scholarship, Service, Leadership and Character.

High School Principal Perry Graves performed the certification of the new members and presented each with a certificate of membership.

New inductees are Jaydyn Doran, Heidi Estrada, Maryssa Guerrero, Emily Martinez, Reynaldo Pasillas, Logan Prader, Kaylee Proffitt, Ricky Romo, Jessica Sanchez, Isaiah Seymore, Lucas Sullivan.

Other current members are Aydin Adame, Jose Contreras, Jackie Cortez, Skylen Escarcega, Jessica Garcia, Sam Griffin, Milette Hernandez, Jocelyn Massey and Cooper Meador.

Nationwide, more than a million students are estimated to participate in the National Honor Society. NHS and NJHS chapters are found in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and many U.S. territories. Chapters can also be found in Canada and certain areas in Asia. Pakistan has three schools maintaining an active chapter. Additionally, NHS chapters have been established in American schools around the globe.

The NHS motto is “noblesse oblige,” a French phrase interpreted in English as “nobility obligates.” The phrase has two practical meanings including “whoever claims to be noble must conduct himself nobly,” and “one must act in a fashion that conforms with one’s position, and with the reputation that one has earned.”